LSAMP Faculty Mentor Awards

Outstanding IN LSAMP faculty mentor of the year awards

In 2022, the IN LSAMP awarded its first Outstanding IN LSAMP Faculty Mentor of the Year Awards to recognize mentors for their exceptional mentorship qualities. Faculty mentors were nominated by current and former IN LSAMP scholars who shared how their faculty mentor supported them in achieving their personal and professional goals as well as helped them succeed in their college experience. Nomination forms for this award open in January and close in March of each year.

2021-22 IN LSAMP Outstanding Faculty Mentor of the Year Award Recipients

Portrait of Ming Gao smiling at the camera.

Ming Gao

IU Northwest, Department of Biology

"…Having Dr. Ming Gao as my mentor has taught me how to react and plan future actions based on the tribulations that may arise. Dr. Ming has showed me what it means to be a true scientist. He is truly a role model that I look up to."

- John Eshak, IUN LSAMP Scholar

Portrait of Maureen Rutherford smiling at the camera.

Maureen Rutherford

IU Northwest, Department of Psychology

"…Dr. Maureen Rutherford is a remarkable faculty mentor. Even after the LSAMP internship concluded, Dr. Rutherford continues to act as a mentor throughout my journey as an undergraduate. My experiences with Dr. Rutherford have been truly memorable and impactful."

- Mercedes Andrade, IUN LSAMP Alumna